Event Waitlist

Sorry, there are no available tickets for this event. Please sign up to the waiting list (optional).

First name is required. First name contains invalid characters.
Last name is required. Last name contains invalid characters.
Email address is required. Email address is invalid.
Phone number is required. Phone number is invalid.
Number of tickets is required. Number of tickets is invalid.

Your name has been added to the wait list for this event. The event organiser will contact you through your email address once there are available seats / slots.

This event has no dates available for booking. Please contact the event organiser.

Lionel Shriver in conversation with Meri Fatin

Tuesday 12th May 2020 via ZOOM webinar

9.30pm AEST,     9.00pm ACST,     7.30pm AWST,     12.30pm London, UK

hero
Lionel Shriver will be in conversation with Meri Fatin to discuss her new novel The Motion of the Body Through Space published by Harper Collins, on Tuesday 12th May 2020.
9.30pm QLD/NSW/VIC/TAS       9.00pm SA/NT        7.30pm WA        12.30pm London, UK

About the book: Allergic to group activities of any kind, all her life Serenata has run, swum, and cycled – on her lonesome. But now that she’s hit 60, all that physical activity has destroyed her knees. As she contemplates surgery with dread, her previously sedentary husband Remington, recently and ignominiously redundant, chooses this precise moment to discover exercise.

Which should be good for his health, right? Yet as he joins the cult of fitness that seems increasingly to consume the whole of the Western world, her once-modest husband burgeons into an unbearable narcissist. Ignoring all his other obligations in the service of extreme sport, he engages a saucy, taunting personal trainer named Bambi, who treats his wife with contempt. When Remington announces his intention to compete in a legendarily gruelling triathlon, MettleMan, Serenata is sure he's going to end up injured or dead – but the stubbornness of an ageing man in Lycra is not to be underestimated.

The Motion of the Body Through Space is Lionel Shriver at her hilarious, sharp-eyed, audacious best.

SUPPORT LOCAL - LOVE YOUR BOOKSHOP - BACK YOUR BOOKSHOP

Australian Bookshops have rallied for their communities in these past few weeks, with many moving to home deliveries, flat fee postage, online story times and bookclubs, as well as online author events like this.  Whilst this event has been created by one of those Australian Bookshops, now is the time to support your own local bookshop and purchase Lionel Shriver's book from them either before this event or after it.  

Thank you to Harper Collins Australia for making this possible.

LOCATION

Online ZOOM event - Tickets $10
A unique link will be sent out 1 hour prior to the event to ticket holders.  Your video and microphone is not used in this event, the link gives you the ability to watch the conversation live and pose questions via your screen.

Contact Details